WHAT I REALLY WANTED TO BE?

Have you come to the point that you ask yourself what you wanted to be?

Yes, I am talking about your future self.

I remember back when I graduated in High School, I have to enroll for college – time to decide what course should I take. Honestly, I really don’t know what I really like, I don’t know what I wanted to be. I was undecided, I was unsure.

My dad wants me to take BS Education so I can be a future teacher so I just complied with my Dad just to make him happy. He accompanied me during the enrollment. We inquire at the registrar what the requirements are. Unfortunately, the required average to take that course should be at least 85% of average grade which I failed to acquire. I saw from my Dad’s eyes the frustration. I was guilty, if only I studied hard, if only or should at least be that so-called-good-daughter.

Long story short, I end up taking BS Criminology for a year and did not finish it due to our financial problem so I started working at the age of 17. Just to share with y’all, I’ve worked in different companies – Electrical Company, Government and Clothing Line.

Right now, I am working for almost 5 years as Service Corporate Manager – well thanks that I survived this work in spite of the stress I get everyday. But is this what I really want?

It took time for me to realize what I really wanted to be. I want to be a VISUAL MERCHANDISER of a known clothing brand. In the past few years, I discovered myself that FASHION is my PASSION. I want to showcase my talent, I want to dress up a mannequin, just like a memory from my childhood how I dress up my Barbie.

levis
Photo Credits to the owner

I still keep asking myself, “Is there any possibility or any chance to be a Visual Merchandiser?” I hope so. Still crossing my fingers, hihi. But if this not happen in near future, just be happy and accept it. In reality, there are things that are not just mean to be.

I may not be what I wanted to be but I am happy and contented of what I am right now. That’s enough and I enjoyed everything. I am truly blessed that I have stable job and surviving every single day. I couldn’t ask for more.

Love,

Lin

Author: lingoongeung

Lin. 20+ Crazy Cat Lady. Traveler. Stylist Wanna Be. Frustrated Photographer

Leave a Reply

